

SXSW Film Awards: 'Fort Tilden,' 'The Great Invisible' Win Top Prizes

MARCH 11, 2014 | 07:47PM PT

David Dastmalchian in 'Animals' awarded special award for courage in storytelling

Andrew Stewart (http://variety.com/author/andrewstewart/) Film Reporter @Variety Stewart (http://twitter.com/@Variety Stewart)

Justin Chang (http://variety.com/author/justin-chang/) Chief Film Critic @*JustinCChang (http://twitter.com/@JustinCChang)*

The polarizing, quirky millennial comedy "Fort Tilden (http://variety.com/t/fort-tilden/)," from directors Sarah-Violet Bliss and Charles Rogers, won the narrative feature grand jury prize at this year's SXSW Film Festival, while Margaret Brown's BP oil spill expose "The Great Invisible (http://variety.com/t/the-great-invisible/)" nabbed the honors for best documentary feature.

Narrative competion juror Oliver Platt presented the kudo to "Fort Tilden," noting that the decision had been unanimous. The film stars Clare McNulty and Bridey Elliott as a pair of twentysomething roommates who find themselves in a trek across "deep Brooklyn." Last year's winner was the widely embraced drama "Short Term 12."

"Sitting in that chair for the last half-hour was the best workout I could have had," Bliss said as she accepted the prize with Rogers. "My heart is pounding so fast."

Brown accepted the award for "The Great Invisible" onstage with her crew.

"This was a three-and-a-half year effort," said the director, who thanked the film community "for watching a lot of really bad rough cuts."

Fest kudos were handed out Tuesday night at Austin's Paramount Theatre, hosted for the second straight year by Jerrod Carmichael, who appeared in Universal's SXSW-premiered comedy "Neighbors."

Jury members spread the kudos wealth as "Animals

(<u>http://variety.com/t/animals/</u>)" actor-screenwriter David Dastmalchian won the special jury recognition for courage in storytelling prize, awarding him for his physically demanding portrayal of a homeless addict.

"I hope that anyone who sees this movie remembers, you never give up on people," Dastmalchian said.

Natalia Tena and David Verdaguer received the acting duo award for their performances as a couple separated by 10,000 kilometers in Carlos Marques-Marcet's relationship drama "Long Distance (<u>http://variety.com/t/long-distance/</u>)." Tena accepted the award in Verdaguer's absence, noting that she was going to "drink lots of shots for him."

In the documentary competition, a special jury recognition for political courage went to "Vessel," Diana Whitten's film about pro-choice activist Rebecca Gomperts and her organization Women on Waves. The doc jury also gave a special jury award for editing and storytelling to "Print the Legend," Luis Lopez and Clay Tweel's pic about the burgeoning 3D printing industry.

A pair of Sundance premieres traveling to the Austin film fest nabbed awards, including local hero Richard Linklater's "Boyhood," which won the Louis Black Lone Star Award for a Texas film, and Kat Candler's "Hellion" receiving a special mention in the SXSW Gamechanger Emergent Woman Director category.

Director Jen McGowan received the SXSW Gamechanger Award for "Kelly & Cal," her debut starring Juliette Lewis and Jonny Weston.

Carmichael kicked off the show with a standup routine in which he mocked everything from Woody Allen, whom he thanked for reminding everyone that "talent is more important than morals," to festival entry "The Raid 2," which he described as the story of "one guy's struggle to give a fuck about plot."

The SXSW Film Fest screened a total of 246 films, including 133 features and 113 short entries, over nine days. Audience awards will be handed out Saturday.

The 2014 SXSW Film Festival Award Winners:

Feature Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION Grand Jury Winner: Fort Tilden Director: Sarah-Violet Bliss & Charles Rogers Special Jury Recognition for Courage in Storytelling: Animals Actor & Screenwriter: David Dastmalchian

Special Jury Recognition for Best Acting Duo: 10,000KM (Long Distance) Natalie Tena David Verdaguer

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE COMPETITION Grand Jury Winner: The Great Invisible Director: Margaret Brown

Special Jury Recognition for Political Courage: Vessel Director: Diana Whitten

Special Jury Recognition for Editing & Storytelling: Print the Legend Directors: Luis Lopez & Clay Tweel

Short Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE SHORTS Winner: Quelqu'un d'extraordinaire Director: Monia Chokri

Special Jury Recognition: Person to Person Director: Dustin Guy Defa

Special Jury Recognition for Cinematography: Krisha Director: Trey Edward Shults

DOCUMENTARY SHORTS Winner: Kehinde Wiley: An Economy of Grace Director: Jeff Dupre

MIDNIGHT SHORTS Winner: Wawd Ahp Directors: Steve Girard & Josh Chertoff ANIMATED SHORTS Winner: Coda Director: Alan Holly Special Jury Recognition: Eager Director: Allison Schulnik

MUSIC VIDEOS Winner: Joel Compass, "Back to Me" Director: Ian and Cooper

TEXAS SHORTS Winner: Some vacation. Director: Anne S. Lewis

TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORTS Winner: Seawolf Director: Caila Pickett & Max Montoya

SXSW Film Design Awards

EXCELLENCE IN POSTER DESIGN Winner: Starry Eyes Designer: Jay Shaw

EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN Winner: True Detective Designer: Patrick Clair for Elastic Special Jury Recognition: The Lego Movie Designer: Brian Mah for Alma Matter

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW GAMECHANGER EMERGENT WOMAN DIRECTOR AWARD Winner: Jen McGowan, Kelly & Cal Special Mention: Kat Candler. Hellion LOUIS BLACK "LONE STAR" AWARD Winner: Boyhood Director: Richard Linklater KAREN SCHMEER FILM EDITING FELLOWSHIP Presented to: Colin Nusbaum

RELATED STORIES

powered by SideDoor™



India Box Office Grows 10% in 2013



Tom Hiddleston Replaces Benedict Cumberbatch in...

Jennifer Lawrence to Play the Inventor of

the...

FROM THE WEB



Laurence Fishburne 6 Best Zingers From Returns as 'The "Between Two Ferns" Matrix's'... WhoSay

© Copyright 2014 Variety Media, LLC, a subsidiary of Penske Business Media, LLC. Variety and the Flying V logos are trademarks of Variety Media, LLC.