examiner.com SXSW 2014: Jury and Special Awards



Photo by Michael Loccisano



Ed Moy Indie Filmmaker Examiner | Follow: March 12, 2014

The Jury and Special Award-winners of this year's SXSW Film Conference and Festival were announced tonight at the Festival's Awards Ceremony, presented by Fuzzrocket.

The awards were hosted for the second year by comedian Jerrod Carmichael, who also starred in "Neighbors," which had its worldwide debut at SXSW on Saturday, March 8.

This year, the Awards returned to the historic Paramount Theatre in Austin, Texas. Feature Films receiving Jury Awards were selected from the Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature Competition categories.

Films in these categories, as well as all feature categories (with the exception of Headliners and Special Events), and the Poster and Title Design Competition entrants, are also

eligible for 2014 SXSW Film Festival Audience Awards.

All Audience Awards will be announced separately on Saturday, March 15, (with the exception of the 24 Beats Per Second category, which will be announced on Monday,

March 17 due to first screenings scheduled for Saturday, 3/15).

SXSW continues showing films through Saturday, March 15, details can be found at **www.sxsw.com/film**.

The festival organizers also announced the Jury Award-winners in Shorts Filmmaking and winners of the SXSW Film Design Awards, as well as Special Awards, including the Louis Black "Lone Star" Award and the Gamechanger Award.

The 2014 SXSW Film Festival Juries consisted of:

Narrative Feature Competition: Kate Aurthur, Michael Hogan, Oliver Platt Documentary Feature Competition: David Ehrlich, Dave Karger, Amy Nicholson Shorts Program: Bret Berg, Dan Nuxoll, Saschka Unseld Documentary Shorts: Heather Courtney, Daniel Dreifuss, Adam Roffman Animated Shorts: Geoff Marslett, Carson Mell, Julia Pott Midnight Shorts: Meredith Borders, Adam Montgomery, Jordan Vogt-Roberts Music Videos: John T. Kunz, Tyler Pratt, Shakey Graves Texas Shorts: Elizabeth Avellán, Eugenio del Bosque, Heather Page Texas High School Shorts: Emily Hagins, Bob Ray, Bart Weiss Title Sequence Design: Ian Albinson, Pamela Green, Yen Tan Poster Design: Christian Helms, Tim League, Kurt Volk Louis Black "Lone Star": Peter Debruge, Victor Diaz, Harry Knowles

Over the course of nine days, the 2014 SXSW Film Festival will host a total of 133 features, consisting of 89 World Premieres, 11 North American Premieres and 8 U.S. Premieres, with 70 first-time directors. 113 shorts will screen as part of 11 overall shorts programs. The 246 films were selected from a record number of overall submissions, nearly 6,500, comprised of approximately 2,200 features and 4,300 shorts, with an overall increase of 14% over 2013.

The 2014 SXSW Film Festival Award Winners:

Feature Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION

Grand Jury Winner: Fort Tilden

Director: Sarah-Violet Bliss & Charles Rogers

Special Jury Recognition for Courage in Storytelling: Animals Actor & Screenwriter: David Dastmalchian

Special Jury Recognition for Best Acting Duo: 10,000KM (Long Distance) Natalie Tena David Verdaguer

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE COMPETITION

Grand Jury Winner: The Great Invisible Director: Margaret Brown

Special Jury Recognition for Political Courage: Vessel Director: Diana Whitten

Special Jury Recognition for Editing & Storytelling: Print the Legend Directors: Luis Lopez & Clay Tweel

Short Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE SHORTS Winner: Quelqu'un d'extraordinaire Director: Monia Chokri Directors: Steve Girard & Josh Chertoff

ANIMATED SHORTS Winner: Coda Director: Alan Holly

Special Jury Recognition: Eager Director: Allison Schulnik

MUSIC VIDEOS Winner: Joel Compass, "Back to Me" Director: Ian and Cooper

TEXAS SHORTS Winner: Some vacation. Director: Anne S. Lewis

TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORTS Winner: Seawolf Director: Caila Pickett & Max Montoya

SXSW Film Design Awards

EXCELLENCE IN POSTER DESIGN Winner: Starry Eyes Designer: Jay Shaw

EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN Winner: True Detective Designer: Patrick Clair for Elastic

Special Jury Recognition: The Lego Movie

Designer: Brian Mah for Alma Matter

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW GAMECHANGER EMERGENT WOMAN DIRECTOR AWARD

Winner: Jen McGowan, "Kelly & Cal"

Special Mention: Kat Candler. "Hellion"

LOUIS BLACK "LONE STAR" AWARD Winner: Boyhood Director: Richard Linklater

KAREN SCHMEER FILM EDITING FELLOWSHIP Presented to: Colin Nusbaum

SXSW 2014 is sponsored by Miller Lite, Monster Energy, Esurance, Chevrolet, AT&T, IFC, Subway and The Austin Chronicle.

SOURCE: SXSW